Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper arm

Anything 4th gen TECH related

Post Reply
Scott91EF
L2 - MPFI
L2 - MPFI
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper arm

Post by Scott91EF »

Strange question I know but I just bought a switch since mine was broken and it has the intermittent option on the knob. My car didn't come with intermittent wipers so obviously plugging this in did nothing. My question is this...is the intermittent function controlled by a relay? Can I just replace the relay with a different one and now have intermittent wipers? It may sound trivial but in the wet Pacific Northwest intermittent wipers are nice.

Next issue is also wiper related. There is slop or play in my wiper arms. Basically you can move them several inches when the wipers are off. When they are on while driving they go off the windshield at the pillar by about an inch and when you turn them off they remain about 1/3 of the way up on the windshield unless you push them down again. Tried the obvious...tightened the arms but that did nothing. I got the linkage and the posts that the wiper arms attach to from the junkyard today but before I rip mine out of my car does this sound like the problem? It looks like it's difficult to get to where the linkage attaches to the motor and the plastic cover that runs along the bottom of the windshield is tricky to remove without breaking.

deathmonkey
L2 - MPFI
L2 - MPFI
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by deathmonkey »

+1 is it possible to achieve selectable interval wipers in these things without having to rig my wipers up to an arudino?
I didn't see how to list location in a very limited exploration of the user control panel, so I live in Arkansas. Geographically it's in the southeastern United States.

User avatar
91B16AHB
L5 - Built Motor
L5 - Built Motor
Posts: 1469
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 8:26 pm
Location: Quinns NY

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by 91B16AHB »

Wow...wish I could help, I never even realized any 4g's didn't have intermittent wipers. :-[
I have this problem over 50mph, the faster I set the wipers the further they go over the pilar.

BTW, don't know if you've seen Flash of Genius... pretty cool movie about the dude who invented intermittent wipers. It might help. ;D lol
And will an acura crx seat on the 90's era fit my 90 dx?

Scott91EF
L2 - MPFI
L2 - MPFI
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by Scott91EF »

Found the answer on another forum...you need a switch with the intermittent function which I now have and a different relay..it's behind the fuse box and should be gray. It has a "B" on it, the non-intermittent relays are marked with an "A"...so back to Pick and Pull to find that relay. I got a used wiper linkage...I'm going to try swapping that out...

User avatar
Tursaanpoika
L2 - MPFI
L2 - MPFI
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:49 pm
Location: Turku, Finland

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by Tursaanpoika »

That relay is a pain in the but to get to...

User avatar
el_jelly
L6 - Race Bred
L6 - Race Bred
Posts: 7549
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 3:27 am
Location: Puerto Rico

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by el_jelly »

Yes, you have to remove the whole fuse box to take it out. The play in the wiper could be the nut that attaches the linkage to the wiper arm, or the wiper arm bolt is simply worn out.

Continuing on the topic my intermittent wiper functions sometimes or it starts working and suddenly stops and have to put it continuous. What could be the cause for that, the wiper switch or the relay?
IHeartMySTD wrote: We all know we like our women and cars with D's, not B's!!!! ;)
Where most of the questions are already answered > Engine swap guide, FAQs and Index thread

Scott91EF
L2 - MPFI
L2 - MPFI
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by Scott91EF »

Got the relay, it wasn't that hard to get out. I removed the two 10mm bolts that hold the fuse box in the dash and used a flat screwdriver to carefully pry it off. Did the same to install it and now I have perfectly functioning intermittent wipers.

The slop in the wipers was the right-hand side linkage. Originally I got the left side which was the easier to get out and missed the right so I had to go back for it...overall an easy/cheap fix. I figure it cost me about $35 to replace the linkage and all in all about $20 to upgrade to intermittent wipers but I had to replace a broken swith anyway so it was worth it.

Scott91EF
L2 - MPFI
L2 - MPFI
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by Scott91EF »

Just to follow up...I replaced the linkage because the area around the bushings was worn. The metal had actually been worn to an oval as opposed to a circle. This took care of the "slop" issue but I have noticed some "chatter" in the blades, especially if the windshield is just a little wet and occassionally the wiper will go off the windshield especially at high speeds. I have replaced the linkage, wiper blades and made sure that everything is tight. I guess this is just a quirck with a twenty year old car.

91EFbluehatch
L4 - Forced Induction
L4 - Forced Induction
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by 91EFbluehatch »

I have had the same problem. i have an intermitten arm switch, but no relay.

i also tried adjusting my driver wiper arm to not go over the pilar. but one day i have enough of it, and i took the driver wiper completly off, and rocked a fully functional MONO wiper!!! shit was legit
Image
91 CIVIC hatch. b16a2 in the works

Scott91EF
L2 - MPFI
L2 - MPFI
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:13 pm

Re: Can I convert to intermittent wipers? Slop also in wiper

Post by Scott91EF »

91EFbluehatch wrote:I have had the same problem. i have an intermitten arm switch, but no relay.

i also tried adjusting my driver wiper arm to not go over the pilar. but one day i have enough of it, and i took the driver wiper completly off, and rocked a fully functional MONO wiper!!! shit was legit
The relay was only a couple of dollars at the salvage yard and was too easy to swap. Let me know if you can't find one and I'll keep an eye out for you.

The wiper arm going over the windshield is just something that I'm going to have to accept...

Post Reply